Career Programs

CTS Program

The CTS program centres on five clusters and more than 1000 1-credit courses in 28 occupational areas.

A cluster is a group of CTS courses that represent occupations with broad industry commonalities.  Clusters in CTS are aligned with the National Occupational Classification (NOC) and function as an organizing tool for the CTS program:

BIT: Business, Administration, Finance & Information Technology

HRH: Health, Recreation & Human Services

MDC: Media, Design & Communication Arts

NAT: Natural Resources

TMT: Trades, Manufacturing & Transportation

A pathway is a selection of courses to give students the opportunity to explore and acquire the attitudes, skills and knowledge for a career that is relevant to their interests.  Pathways support goals that may include university, college, apprentice training or moving directly into the workforce.  Teacher and students can select and combine CTS courses to create pathways for exploration, specialization and credentialing.

Credentialed Pathways are a series of specific courses selected to provide opportunities for student to achieve a credential or credit awarded by a recognized community or industry organization or post-secondary institution; e.g. Welder, A+ Certification Computer Repair Technician, Microsoft Office Specialist.  Note: All credential/journeyperson opportunities are external to Alberta Education, and it is the responsibility of the student/teacher/school to ensure that the requirements of the credentialing organization have been addressed.

Specialized skill pathways are a collection of courses selected to address student interests in a field of study; e.g. Event Planner, Outdoor Guide, Court Clerk.

Each CTS course at the introductory, intermediate or advanced level represents approximately 25 hours of instruction.  Some courses require one or more prerequisites which are essential for maintaining safety standards, appropriate instructional sequencing and articulation with post-secondary programs.

CTS courses are instructional units defined by general and specific learning outcomes to develop attitude, skills, knowledge and values supported through practical application and experience.

Courses are organized into three levels of achievement.  Levels of achievement are not indicators of grade levels.  Students progressing through the levels will be expected to meet higher standards and demonstrate an increasing degree of competence in both the general and specific outcomes.